perspective

Our perspective, the way we look at things, has such an impact on our lives. Sometimes it’s so deeply ingrained that we may n0t even realize what it is, but other times it’s a conscious choice.

On this journey, I’ve begun to recognize both aspects of how I interpret things. My childhood left me feeling inadequate – that I couldn’t hope to do or achieve certain things – and insecure – that I didn’t deserve good things. That perspective was so deeply ingrained, and impacted so many aspects of my life, that it took me until my 40s to recognize it and begin to take steps to address it. And it’s an ongoing process. Sometimes it feels like every day I come across some residual of the choices I made because of that perspective.

And yet, my childhood also left me with the habit of trying to see things from the other person’s point of view, from their perspective. This is a choice I make. Granted I’m not always successful, but this perspective has helped me through hard times and also allowed me to help others during their hard times.

And there’s a new perspective that this journey has added – learning to see things from God’s point of view. I try to look at myself – my thoughts, my words, my actions – and the world as a whole, from God’s point of view. And in both areas I see things that make me happy, and even proud (not in a smug, boastful way, but in a wow isn’t that great kind of way).  But I also see things that make me cringe and even weep. And it all makes me marvel at the depth and breadth of God’s love, that through all of this, God’s love surrounds and supports us.

I cannot change the world, but I can change me, and that is what this journey is all about. Becoming the best me, the me God created me to be. And perhaps, along the way, I might help others recognize and work on their perspective too…

One thought on “perspective

Leave a comment